Skip to content

Which is better: sit-in or sit-on-top kayak?

March 27, 2012

Well, personally I hate sit-in kayaks…period, but I will try to list the pros and cons of both. Here it goes:

Sit-in

Pros: it floats.

Cons:

-It fills with water when you tip, and the only way to drain it is by finding the shore and draining through the plug.

-During hot days, it gets so humid inside that kayak. By the time you get out, your skin will be soggy mush (I am exagerrating, but yeah).

-They are rounded on top, so you can’t easily place things on your kayak like lures, tackle boxes or even your fishing poles.

-You have limited movement. You can turn your head, but your feet are stuck.

I hate sit-ins. Now, if you like them, then more power to ya, but as for me and my house, we will use sit-on-tops.

Sit-on-top

Pros:

-Your legs have breathing room. You can sit pretty much how ever you want. You can even side-straddle on most by hanging your legs off the side and fishing like that.

-They do not wobble as much. SOTs tend to be more sturdier, and I’m going to attribute that sturdiness to the flatter top.

-You have much more space to place things such as coolers, fishing poles, backpacks, life jackets and drinks.

Cons:

-Your legs have long exposure to the sun, and you can get some serious burns.

Some think you can fall out of a SOT easier than a SI. I think not, because SIs are more wobbly and tip easier in my opinion.

Wow, this was an extremely biased post. Hope I have helped you choose a Sit-on-Top rather than a Sit-in. Hey, honesty is good right? Here are some links to some Sit-on-Top kayaks:

Ocean Kayak 8-Feet Yak Board Sit-On-Top Recreational Kayak

Riot Kayaks Escape 12 Angler Sit-On-Top Flatwater Fishing Kayak (Sand, 12-Feet)

No comments yet

Leave a comment